Buy @ TCGplayer
Name
Mirror-Sigil Sergeant
Cost
{5}{W}
Types
Creature — Rhino Soldier
Oracle Text

Trample

At the beginning of your upkeep, if you control a blue permanent, you may create a token that's a copy of Mirror-Sigil Sergeant.

P/T
4/4
Set
Conflux
Artist
Chris Rahn
Number
12

Printings

Legality

Commander Duel Legacy Modern Oathbreaker Penny Predh Vintage Premodern Alchemy Brawl Explorer Future Gladiator Historic Pauper Paupercommander Pioneer Standard Standardbrawl Timeless Oldschool

Rulings

2009-02-01

Here are the weird exceptions. If any copy effects have affected the Mirror-Sigil Sergeant whose ability triggered, they're taken into account when the token is created. For example: -- If Mirror-Sigil Sergeant's ability triggers, then Mirror-Sigil Sergeant temporarily becomes a copy of another creature before its ability resolves (due to Mirrorweave, perhaps), the token will be a copy of whatever creature the Mirror-Sigil Sergeant is currently a copy of. After the turn ends, the Mirrorweaved Mirror-Sigil Sergeant reverts back to what it was, but the token will stay as it is. -- If the copy ability of a creature (such as Cemetery Puca, perhaps) makes it become a copy of Mirror-Sigil Sergeant and gain another ability, the token created by this creature at the beginning of your upkeep will be a Mirror-Sigil Sergeant with that additional ability.

2009-02-01

Here’s the detailed version of what happens. As the token is created, it checks the printed values of the Mirror-Sigil Sergeant it’s copying — or, if the Mirror-Sigil Sergeant whose ability triggered was itself a token, the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that put it onto the battlefield — as well as any copy effects that have been applied to it. It won’t copy counters on the Mirror-Sigil Sergeant, nor will it copy other effects that have changed Mirror-Sigil Sergeant’s power, toughness, types, color, or so on.

2009-02-01

If Mirror-Sigil Sergeant has left the battlefield by the time its triggered ability resolves, you’ll still put a token onto the battlefield. That token has the copiable values of the characteristics of Mirror-Sigil Sergeant as it last existed on the battlefield.

2009-02-01

Normally, when a token is created by this ability, it will simply be a Mirror-Sigil Sergeant, so it’ll also have the token-creating ability. (See the other ruling for weird exceptions.) At the beginning of your next upkeep, if you still control the original Sergeant, the token copy, and a blue permanent, you’ll get two more token copies; the turn after that you’ll get four; then eight; and so on.

2009-02-01

The “intervening ‘if’ clause” means that (1) the ability won’t trigger at all unless you control a permanent of the specified color, and (2) the ability will do nothing unless you control a permanent of the specified color at the time it resolves.

Similar Cards