Buy @ TCGplayer
Name
Suffer the Past
Cost
{X}{B}
Types
Instant
Oracle Text

Exile X target cards from target player's graveyard. For each card exiled this way, that player loses 1 life and you gain 1 life.

Set
Commander 2021
Artist
Trevor Claxton
Number
155

Printings

Legality

Commander Duel Legacy Modern Oathbreaker Penny Predh Vintage Premodern Alchemy Brawl Explorer Future Gladiator Historic Pauper Paupercommander Pioneer Standard Standardbrawl Timeless Oldschool

Rulings

2010-06-15

If the targeted player becomes an illegal target by the time Suffer the Past resolves but the targeted cards don’t, you still exile the cards and gain life. The player won’t be lose any life, though.

2010-06-15

Suffer the Past’s effect causes a single life-gain event, not a number of separate ones. This matters for cards such as Cradle of Vitality.

2010-06-15

The life that’s lost and the life that’s gained are based on the number of cards that are actually exiled, not on the value of X (in case any of the targeted cards somehow leave the graveyard in response and thus can’t be exiled this way).

Similar Cards