$2.84 @ TCGplayer
Name
Marchesa's Decree
Cost
{3}{B}
Types
Enchantment
Oracle Text

When Marchesa's Decree enters the battlefield, you become the monarch.

Whenever a creature attacks you or a planeswalker you control, that creature's controller loses 1 life.

Set
Conspiracy: Take the Crown
Artist
Chris Rallis
Number
44

Printings

Legality

Commander Duel Legacy Modern Vintage Penny Pauper Historic Pioneer Brawl Future Standard Oldschool

Rulings

2016-08-23

The game starts with no monarch. Once an effect makes one player the monarch, the game will have exactly one monarch from that point forward.

2016-08-23

Abilities that trigger whenever you “become the monarch” trigger only if you aren’t already the monarch. For example, if you are already the monarch as Custodi Lich enters the battlefield, its last ability won’t trigger.

2016-08-23

If the triggered ability that causes the monarch to draw a card goes on the stack, and a different player becomes the monarch before that ability resolves, the first player will still draw the card.