$0.30 @ TCGplayer
Name
Path of Ancestry
Cost
Types
Land
Oracle Text

Path of Ancestry enters the battlefield tapped.

{T}: Add one mana of any color in your commander's color identity. When that mana is spent to cast a creature spell that shares a creature type with your commander, scry 1. (Look at the top card of your library. You may put that card on the bottom of your library.)

Set
Commander Legends
Artist
Alayna Danner
Number
708

Printings

Legality

Commander Duel Legacy Modern Penny Premodern Vintage Gladiator Historic Pauper Pioneer Brawl Future Standard Oldschool

Rulings

2020-11-10

If you have two commanders, the last ability adds one mana of any color in their combined color identities.

2020-11-10

Your commander’s creature types are checked immediately after you cast a creature spell spending mana from Path of Ancestry’s last ability. They aren’t set before the game begins, and they may not be the same types your commander had when you activated that ability. Notably, if your commander is in a hidden zone (like the hand or library) or is phased out, it’s considered to have no creature types.

2020-11-10

If your commander is a card that has no colors in its color identity, Path of Ancestry’s ability produces no mana. It doesn’t produce {C}.

2020-11-10

If you don’t have a commander, Path of Ancestry’s ability produces no mana.

2020-11-10

If you cast your commander with mana from Path of Ancestry, and your commander hasn’t somehow lost all of its creature types while on the stack, you’ll scry 1.

2020-11-10

If your commander has no creature types, it can’t share a creature type with any spell that you cast.

2020-11-10

If Path of Ancestry’s last ability produces two mana (most likely due to Mana Reflection), spending those two mana to cast creature spells that share a creature type with your commander will cause two abilities to trigger. Each of those abilities will cause you to scry 1. You won’t scry 2. This is true whether you spend the mana on one creature spell or two.

Similar Cards