Buy @ TCGplayer
Name
Gray Merchant of Asphodel
Cost
{3}{B}{B}
Types
Creature — Zombie
Oracle Text

When Gray Merchant of Asphodel enters the battlefield, each opponent loses X life, where X is your devotion to black. You gain life equal to the life lost this way. (Each {B} in the mana costs of permanents you control counts toward your devotion to black.)

P/T
2/4
Set
Theros Beyond Death
Artist
Scott Murphy
Number
99

Printings

Legality

Commander Duel Legacy Modern Penny Premodern Vintage Gladiator Historic Pauper Pioneer Brawl Future Standard Oldschool

Rulings

2020-01-24

The amount of life you gain is the total amount of life lost, not simply the value of X.

2020-01-24

In a Two-Headed Giant game, each opposing team loses twice X life.

2020-01-24

Colorless and generic mana symbols ({C}, {0}, {1}, {2}, {X}, and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.

2020-01-24

Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.

2020-01-24

Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).

2020-01-24

If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if it’s still on the battlefield at that time.

2020-01-24

If you put an Aura on an opponent’s permanent, you still control the Aura, and mana symbols in its mana cost count towards your devotion.

Similar Cards