$0.20 @ TCGplayer
Name
Electropotence
Cost
{2}{R}
Types
Enchantment
Oracle Text

Whenever a creature enters the battlefield under your control, you may pay {2}{R}. If you do, that creature deals damage equal to its power to any target.

Set
Zendikar
Artist
Christopher Moeller
Number
122

Printings

Legality

Commander Duel Legacy Modern Oathbreaker Penny Predh Vintage Premodern Alchemy Brawl Explorer Future Gladiator Historic Pauper Paupercommander Pioneer Standard Standardbrawl Timeless Oldschool

Rulings

2009-10-01

Electropotence is the source of the ability, but the creature is the source of the damage. The ability couldn’t target a creature with protection from red, for example. It could target a creature with protection from creatures, but all the damage would be prevented. Since damage is dealt by the creature, lifelink, deathtouch, and wither are taken into account, even if the creature has left the battlefield by the time it deals damage.

2009-10-01

If you pay {2}{R}, the creature that entered the battlefield deals damage equal to its current power to the targeted permanent or player. If it’s no longer on the battlefield, its last known existence on the battlefield is checked to determine its power.

2009-10-01

Once you decide to pay {2}{R}, it’s too late for anyone to respond (such as by activating a regeneration ability the targeted creature has).

2009-10-01

You target a permanent or player when the ability triggers. You decide whether or not to pay {2}{R} as the ability resolves.

Similar Cards